Papua Expanded, Indonesia Now Officially Has 37 Provinces

Papua Expanded, Indonesia Now Officially Has 37 Provinces Expanded, Papua now has 3 more provinces. (Graphic by Freepik)
Starting June 30, 2022, Indonesia officially has 37 provinces. This number has increased by three from the original 34 provinces in the country.

These are the Provinces of South Papua (Papua Selatan), Central Papua (Papua Tengah), and Papua Mountains (Papua Pegunungan) due to the division of the Papua Province.

The division officially coincided with enacting three draft laws (RUU) concerning the new autonomous region in Papua, which became Law (UU).

The DPR and the government agreed upon the decision at the 26th Plenary Meeting of the DPR RI for the V Session Year 2021-2022 at the Senayan Parliament Complex, Jakarta, Thursday (30/6).

The Minister of Home Affairs (Mendagri) Tito Karnavian said that the proposal for the expansion of the province in Papua came from the aspirations of the local community, starting from community groups, traditional leaders and regional officials. In addition, according to Tito, the expansion of three new provinces in Papua is to carry out the mandate of the Papua Special Autonomy Law, which was stipulated in July 2021.

"On behalf of the government, we approve this bill to be passed into law," said Tito closing the trial.

The following is a list of the new provinces and their capital cities:
South Papua: Merauke
Central Papua: Nabire

Papua Mountains: Jayawijaya 

Source link: 

Many Dead Fish Found in Pleret River Due to Toxic ...
Floods Inundate Sungai Serut Residential Areas in ...


Comments are not available for users without an account. Please login first to view these comments.

Providing you the latest news, insights, opportunities and events from the Indonesia water sector.

Indonesia Water Journal

Subscribe to our newsletter.