What is the Function of the National Water Resources Council?

6242fdeaafc38 Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan chaired a ministerial-level coordination meeting at the J.W Marriot Hotel, Jakarta, Tuesday (29/3/2022). Photo by: Documentation by from the Coordinating Ministry for Marves

 Source: KOMPAS
Date: April 12, 2022

JAKARTA, KOMPAS.com - Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment (Menko Marves) Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan received a new mandate from President Joko Widodo to serve as Daily Chair of the National Water Resources Council. The position is regulated in Presidential Regulation (Perpres) Number 53 of 2022 concerning the National Water Resources Council. 

Reporting from a copy of the Presidential Decree that was uploaded to the official website of the State Secretariat, this regulation was signed by the president on April 6, 2022. Article 1 number 1 of the Presidential Regulation explains that the National Water Resources Council, hereinafter referred to as the National SDA Council, is a forum for coordinating water resources management at the national level. The National SDA Council is domiciled in the capital city of the Republic of Indonesia. 

"The National SDA Council as referred to in Article 3 Paragraph (1) is a non-structural institution that is under and responsible to the president," said Article 4 Paragraph (1) of the Presidential Regulation.

So, what are the duties and functions of the SDA Council? 

Duties and functions According to Article 5 Paragraph (1), the National SDA Council has the task of coordinating the management of water resources at the national level. Furthermore, referring to Article 5 Paragraph (2), there are 5 functions of the National SDA Council, including: 
  1. Coordination in the formulation of water resources management policies at the national level; 
  2. Coordination in the preparation of the designation of river area determination as well as changes to the determination of river area; 
  3. Coordination in the formulation of policies for the management of hydrological, hydrometeorological, and hydrogeological information systems at the national level; 
  4. Coordination and synchronization in providing considerations and recommendations for handling strategic issues in the field of water resources; 
  5. Coordination with the provincial water resources council, the city/district water resources council and the coordination team for the management of river water resources and the framework for managing water resources. 

Organizational Structure According to Article 6 of Presidential Regulation Number 53 of 2022, the organizational structure of the National SDA Council consists of: 
  1. a chairperson; 
  2. Vice-Chairman; 
  3. daily chairman; 
  4. member; and 
  5. secretary. 

Then, in Article 7 of the Presidential Regulation, President Jokowi emphasized that the Chair of the National Natural Resources Council was held by Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan. 

"The chairman of the National SDA Council is held by the minister who has the task of coordinating, synchronizing and controlling the affairs of the ministry in the administration of government in the maritime and investment fields," said Article 7 Paragraph (1) letter a of the Presidential Regulation. The deputy chairman of the National SDA Council is the Coordinating Minister for the Economy, Airlangga Hartarto.

Meanwhile, members of the National SDA Council consist of ministers and heads of institutions, namely: 
the Minister of National Development Planning (PPN); 
  1. Minister of Home Affairs; 
  2. Minister of Environment and Forestry; 
  3. Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Health; 
  4. Minister of Transportation; 
  5. Industry Minister;
  6. Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM); 
  7. Minister of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.
  8. Minister of Education, Culture, Research, and Technology; 
  9. Minister of Agrarian Land and Spatial Planning (ATR);
  10. Tourism Minister;
  11. Head of the Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG);
  12. Head of the Disaster Management Agency;
  13. Head of Research and Innovation Agency.

Members of the National SDA Council also consist of representatives from local governments, namely: 
  1. 2 governors who represent the western part of Indonesia; 
  2. 2 governors representing the central part of Indonesia; 
  3. 2 governors representing the eastern part of Indonesia; 

Then, members of the National SDA Council from non-governmental elements consist of representatives of organizations or associations representing aspects of water resources conservation, utilization of water resources, and control of water damage. Meanwhile, the secretary of the National SDA Council ex officio is held by the director-general who handles tasks and functions in the field of water resources management.

UGM researcher & lecturer develop technology to su...
Indonesia, Panama cooperate on water conservation


Comments are not available for users without an account. Please login first to view these comments.

Providing you the latest news, insights, opportunities and events from the Indonesia water sector.

Indonesia Water Journal

Subscribe to our newsletter.